MRKH with Tosin

My Used To Be Story

I was a girl who had a lot of things working out for her. I excelled (and still) excel in my education. I always had a vague idea of what i wanted to do with my life from when I was 10 years old. I have always had an amazing family and I grew up in a Christian home. Fast forward…… I was in my Sophomore year of undergraduate studies when I was eighteen and I went to the doctor because I had never experienced my period.

I sat in the room as the nice doctor tried to do a pelvic examination but couldnt get close to my cervix because I was in pain. She decided that we needed to do an UltraSound and there was when it all when crumbling in minutes and at the morning of November 13 2012. I overheard the student assistant telling the radiologist that she couldnt find a Uterus. I asked if all was well and they kept saying the Doctor will explain it to me.

I went in to meet the Doctor and she explains to me what she thinks it is thankfully I was the first of my kind she had examined but the second she had met. She tried to cheer me up explaining that I never have to worry about Baby fat and I could be like the celebrities always looking great.

I went away and you can imagine just like every human, I fell and brokedown and was in the dark for two weeks. I wondered why, I ask God several time why what was I meant to tell my African Society. All the dreams of having my child hold my waist for a hug shattered and were replaced by suicidal thoughts, depression, bad grade and unbelief.

My Now Is Story

Yes I am a proud MRKH warrior. MRKH is Mayer-Rokitansky-Küster-Hauser syndrome is a condition that occurs in 1 in 5000 women. The indications of this syndrome is mostly in the reproductive system. It causes the vagina and uterus to be underdeveloped or absent. Women with this syndrome do not have menstrual period as a result of the absence of a uterus. I found fellow sisters like me and we are all stronger. http://www.beautifulyoumrkh.org/

Through two years of struggling, fighting and persevering with grief of my uterus, I made it. I love God more than ever and I am so excited to wake up each day. Please do not be confused, I definitely did fall on the roadside sometimes and slip to depression but recovery got easier overtime. I had to keep trying. I went through several professional counselling, one- on-one with pastors and friends.

I miraculously graduated from college and presently done with my first year of graduate school at the age of 21. I have strength and I believe and I keep working in Joy. I am back to being a servant leader and I am stronger than ever. 🙂

The Secret

Focus on what you are grateful for

Never worry about unfinished business

Keep going and push guilt far away.

I Am

My name is Oluwatosin Adeyeye and I am a Strong Christian Nigerian Lady

One Word

Resilent

10 thoughts on “MRKH with Tosin

Leave a comment